Entry 23: Retail and Future Plans

Day 60

12-11-18_7-28-00 PM

It’s the most curious thing. I’m fairly certain Angel and I were the same age when I arrived in Glassbolt, and yet she, like Nancy, hasn’t aged a day.

Is there information they’ve been keeping from me? I’m struck by a concerning thought: What if something happened during that meltdown that locked the ages of the survivors? Is it possible the residents of Glassbolt are immortal? Could they even be the original survivors of the disaster?

I don’t know. I don’t think anyone would tell me if I asked.

And if we continue to fix the town, will we undo this immortality, or is it forever burned into their DNA? I don’t have the answer to that, either, but surely if Nancy knew that was likely, she never would’ve let me get this far.

12-11-18_7-35-02 PM

With my “retirement” and all the kids in school, there’s not much for me and Charles to do during the day. We pick up singing again.

12-11-18_7-41-14 PM

Journey comes home from school in the throes of a mood swing that makes her so angry she has to cry. I do my best to help her deal with it. She has her first day on the job in the few hours, and I know she wants to impress the organisers behind the Sunday market.

Day 63

12-11-18_11-19-19 PM

The next Saturday, after a challenging week of hard work, Journey reaches the top of the retail career. With a little persuasion and elbow grease, she’s ensured the market will be open seven days a week. We no longer have to wait for Sundays to buy anything or replace damaged items. We can also alter our outfits now.

While updating our outfits, Journey runs across an old photo of me from my younger years. She tries on my glasses and tries her hair in a different style.

She discovers that we’re almost identical! (Minus my daughter’s baby fat, of course, and maybe the nose)

Of course, she takes off the glass and changes her hair immediately afterwards, but I won’t begrudge her that. What teenager wants to look exactly like their mother?

Day 64

12-12-18_12-26-39 PM

Here are my kids in their new summer outfits. Venture is here with me.

12-12-18_12-20-36 PM

And here are the twins.

12-12-18_12-30-32 PM

As soon as Charles gets home from work (stressed as usual), I call a family meeting. I’m getting on in years and need to ensure the continuation of my mission. I show them the journal entries I’ve been sending since I arrived in Glassbolt. They already know some parts of it; the kids have grown up watching me take pictures and communicate remotely with people they’ve never met.

There are three things I need from them: a volunteer to take over this journal, a volunteer to have children of their own, and a renewed promise from the boys that they’ll follow their early plans to deal with Glassbolt’s water supply and medical situation. Journey has already done her part career-wise.

Of course, the catch is, whoever has children puts their job at risk. Or, more accurately, whoever births the children puts their job at risk. Breastfeeding is still the only option we have and employers don’t recognise family leave.

For this reason, Journey volunteers for that role. “I’ve done all I can to fix Glassbolt’s economic system,” she says. “I’m the only one who can do this without risking the city’s future.”

The boys are all too willing to let her take on that role. They’ve never been particularly keen on having children themselves.

“I’ll work on the drinking water and baby formula,” Prosper says. “I’ve always wanted to fix that anyway.”

Venture is set to age up in two days. “I should take over the family records. I already plan to go into journalism and convince the world to help us fix our hygiene and medical problems, so it’ll be good practice.”

There are a few more matters to attend: When when will Venture take over the family records, and when do we bring in another Wonder Child?

“My birthday is three days after Venture’s,” Charles pipes up for the first time. “Maybe that would be a fitting time to close the book on our generation.”

“That will give me some time to get settled in my career,” Venture replies.

“Then that’s settled,” I say. “We’ll wait until Charles’s birthday. But in the event I pass on before then, you have to be ready to take on the role early.”

“You’re healthy, Mum,” Venture says. “I doubt it’ll come to that.”

I appreciate the vote of confidence, but anything can happen. The early years of hard living may have taken a toll I don’t know about yet.

With that taken care of, the final matter is to decide when to introduce the singular Wonder Child we can bring in for my children’s generation. I hope Journey likes whoever we choose, because it’s likely they’ll be the father of her children.

“Can I help pick?” Journey asks. I agree. I was able to choose my partner. She should have the same power.

“Journey is only a week younger than I am,” Venture says. “We could bring them in on my birthday and get them settled in early.”

I remember my whirlwind courtship with Charles. It worked out perfectly for us, but not everyone falls head over heels right away.

It’s a good idea, and Journey agrees.

I feel much better having a plan in place. Now I can enjoy my remaining days in peace, surrounded by family.

Leave a comment